top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMichael Durkin

Sautéed Mushrooms with Garlic and Eggs à la Nancy

Updated: Jun 20, 2021

Sautéed Mushrooms with Garlic and Eggs à la Nancy

Contribution, Video Footage by DJ Fogel

Dedicated to Nancy Fogel


“You know it’s done when you take the lid off and delicious-smelling steam wafts out of the pan”





I simply think of my mom every time I make it.

In the past year especially, I’ve been enjoying the nostalgic pleasures of sautéed mushrooms with garlic, usually with scrambled eggs.



When I was a kid, it was always a special feeling—often a Sunday or holiday morning when my mother made this to go with scrambled eggs ‘n cheese (always cheddar) for brunch, and some tasty multigrain toast w/ butter and jam.






When I was a kid, it was always a special feeling—often a Sunday or holiday morning when my mother made this to go with scrambled eggs

She and her longtime boyfriend who lived with us—were usually in a good mood when she was making this. ;-D


I called him Dad and considered him a stepdad.


Our little house had lots of windows and a lush, green, over-grown yard surrounding it, so light and nature was very present.


As a young child I actually didn’t like the smell of the mushrooms cooking but I did love the light and joyful atmosphere in the house. Somewhere in my teens I started to love the smell too.


Ironically around the same time, they broke up so she made it much less often. As an adult many years later I rediscovered the joy of it, both smell and taste.





My mother loved to have classical music on while cooking, (often chamber music) and on Sunday mornings, often Gregorian chants, so I will often stream classical or music of Jan Garbarek & The Hilliard Ensemble (Officium album or Officium Novum).


If it’s daytime, I’ll try to sit by a window to eat. If evening or a dark day, I will also light a candle.


I usually get the ingredients at my local grocery—Ozzies at FT Washington and 187th street in Manhattan (or a Whole Foods when I’m downtown), and a local liquor store on 181st and Bennett Avenue.


Supplies needed

Good frying/sauté pan (preferably non-stick but non-toxic), garlic press, good little knife, small cutting board that I only use for garlic and onions, wooden spatula.


Ingredients

Lately, I’ve been avoiding cheese for the most part so instead tend to include:

Garlic

Onion

Eggs

Any fresh mushrooms, usually the most common white or brown kind (now always organic),

Olive Oil

A bit of butter,

Salt/Pepper

cooking sherry *Mom used Taylor brand, so I look for that first always.

Then I might add a quarter to half an avocado to my finished plate,


That’s it, no toast. I made it for my quiet, but lovely Covid Christmas brunch. Used to be, by my mom, but not any more.


Whenever my mother cooked with Sherry, she had a bit of it in a glass and sipped it while

prepping and cooking. So I often have a tiny bit too in a little Italian juice/wine glass. Makes it complete. Somehow also gets my palate set for it.


Directions


My shoulders may tense up when I cut the onions and mushrooms, but try to be conscious and let that go.


I’m more gentle when cutting the mushrooms, I enjoy how easily the knife slices them.


My shoulders may tense up when I cut the onions and mushrooms, but try to be conscious and let that go.












I tend to go back and forth between stove, counter next to it, and sink across from counter (first sink to wash the dirt off mushrooms, using a bowl of water in sink, then a salad strainer to put the clean wet mushrooms in).



Then bring Salad spinner (I don’t spin them) across to counter to cut them and the onion.


I start cooking onions first, maybe w/ just water.


When starting to look clear I add the mushrooms and a bit of sherry,


As quick as possible I crush the garlic, and finely chop what’s left in the crusher and add that too.


I add a bit of oil and butter for an extra treat, mixing it in with the other ingredients, before adding the scrambled eggs and ground pepper and some Himalayan or Sea salt.








And you know it's done, when you take the lid off and delicious-smelling steam wafts out of the pan, also when the mushrooms have shrunk and absorbed the sherry as well as when the eggs are firm all through (for my taste) but still shiny and moist.


And you know it's done, when you take the lid off and delicious-smelling steam wafts out of the pan, also when the mushrooms have shrunk and absorbed the sherry as well as when the eggs are firm all through (for my taste) but still shiny and moist.



I feel grateful for all she did for my sister and me, all her efforts when life was not easy, and especially for sharing and passing down her joy.


I hope anyone who makes this dish gets to enjoy the simple pleasures of warmth and delicious satiety, and as a bonus, the bounty of the moment -- daylight (or candlelight), gentleness, peace, companionship (even as one's own companion), love.


I hope anyone who makes this dish gets to enjoy the simple pleasures of warmth and delicious satiety, and as a bonus, the bounty of the moment -- daylight (or candlelight), gentleness, peace, companionship (even as one's own companion), love.









3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page