top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMichael Durkin

Bobbee O's BBQ

9401 Statesville Rd, Charlotte, NC 28269






It’s all in da sauce

Deep Southern roots

Down home spirit

Tyrone Davis, Albert King, Louis Armstrong fill the air

Ultralocal

BBQ from the people for the people

Situated in North Charlotte in strip mall heaven

An unassuming location

A short history, only opened 8 years ago, but already attracting thousands

One of the few black-owned and operated BBQ joints in the state


A recollection of the people, workers, and restaurant of Bobbee O’s BBQ in North Charlotte, North Carolina



 



Bobbee, a pillar of the community was retired then decided to open up the place

Prep cook, Michael, used to work at Campbell’s Soup

Has a son who works there

Values the leadership of Chloria and Bobbee

A Family-orientated team mentality

Has so much love for the work and his work family

Loves the ‘cue



Owner, Bobbee


Well I'm drifting and drifting,

Like a ship out on the sea.

Well I'm drifting and drifting,

Like a ship out on the sea.

Well I ain't got nobody

In this world to care for me.




Prep Cook, Michael



No Shortcuts

It’s all in da sauce

About the love and craft of the ‘Cue

A down-home authentic Southern experience

BBQ that lives in the shadow of upscale restaurants in other parts of the city

But stacks up against them and even better

Endless crowds streaming in after a Panther’s loss






Fast casual one would say

High volume

Fast Paced

Well-oiled machine

Everyone knows their role in the kitchen, a tight space, but organized and disciplined

A dance of bodies pulling meat and three for the customers at such a fast pace that it becomes second nature

Led by Bobbee and Chloria

Everyone pitching in



Prep Cook, Rueben


Everyone is important, irreplaceable, but can pick up the slack where it needs it

Good food, good friends, good fun.

The work, the effort, the blood, sweat, tears, money, but the product, payoff is worth it

There must be something

That I'm missing

Or is it something

That she's got, oh, baby









An everyday spot for everyday people

Panthers on the TV

Whether they win or lose

Everybody’s gotta eat

Whether its guys in camouflage flexing their latest jacket from Cabela’s

Or guys wearing Julius Peppers’ or other classic players’ jerseys

Or stewardesses staying at a nearby hotel

Blue-collarard greens






If my baby would only take me back again

If my baby would only take me back again.

Well you know I ain't good for nothin' baby

Ladies and gentlemen

While landing at Chicago's O'Hare airport

Please fasten your seatbelts

And observe the no smoking signal

Until you're well inside the terminal

Thank you





For the love of the customers

Seeing smiles on their faces

Dealing with the frustrations and demanding of delivery drivers

Tickets keep coming in

Steady line past closing time on a Sunday night

But its for the love of the customers

Producing quality product at a fast pace





I give you all of my money,

Tell me what more can I do.

I give you all my money,

Tell me what more can I do.

Well you just a good little girl

But you just won't be true.

And if my loving

Mean anything at all to you

I just wanna tell you, I've changed

I mean, I'm a brand new me

Oh, baby, yeah, I'm ready to crawl










It's all about the sauce

And the ribs

And the pulled pork

And the brisket

And the greens

And the fried okra

And the chicken

And the fried pickles

And the sweet tea









Recipes stay the same

1 person and 1 person alone knows the BBQ sauce recipe

A small, friendly restaurant with BBQ that has people across the nation driving from all over to taste our BBQ!

I can't stop feeling this way about you

I can't stop feeling this way about you

When I take a bite out of those ribs

Bye-bye baby, baby bye-bye bye-bye,

It's gonna be too late baby

I'll be so far away.






I'm coming on home

I got to see you

One more time, baby

I'm coming, I'm coming

Oh, baby, I got to have you






Mama, mama, mama, mama

Look out, I'm coming home







 




18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page