top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMike Durkin

I-75 S, I-24 W, US-72 W, I-565 W, I-22/US-78 W, US-278 W, MS-9

Traveling From NYC to Sweetwater, TN and then Sweetwater, TN to Oxford, MS.

November 2019


A series of reflections, sound drives, and images


Play Songs Throughout





Get on I-75 S from Murrays Chapel Rd

2 min (0.7 mi)

Tennessee at it’s best

Volunteer State

Sweetwater

Bradley’s Pit BBQ

Meat a little pink?

That means it’s smoked in an authentic pit, not that liquid stuff.

Better get the Build A Piggy

My favorite

French Fries-Pulled Pork-Pepper Jack

Or the Catfish

Head to the Lost Sea





Cave with an underwater lake

Get Ready to Take an Unforgettable Adventure!

You have never seen, heard, or done anything like this before…

Independently owned Motel 6

No clean linens

No yelp reviews

4 families

23 children

Roaming around an abandoned swimming pool

No lights

All smoking rooms

Cigarette burns on pillowcases

Women at check-out counter complaining of arguing with her boyfriend

Wearing a Chris Daughtry Shirt






Continue on I-75 S. Take I-24 W, US-72 W and I-565 W to Moulton St E in Decatur

2 h 57 min (191 mi)

The River City

We Dare Defend our Rights

The City of Opportunity

Big Bob Gibson's Barbecue's Famous White BBQ Sauce

3M, Hexcel, Polyplex, Toray Carbon Fibers America, GE Appliances, Bunge Packaging, Wolverine Industries

Moulton St

Hashbrowns smothered in Bert's Chili

Fried Okra and Baja Blast at the Shell on 6th St





"What constitutes a state? . . .

Men who their duties know,

but know their rights,

and knowing, dare maintain."

Mayor Tab Bowling











Get on I-22/US-78 W in Tremont from AL-24 W and MS-23 S

1 h 32 min (89.0 mi)

Flipping the dials between worship, country, talk, sports, pop, and modern rock

6 more Jeremy Camp songs in a row

80’s rock block

There’s safety in numbers

The Holidays are coming

Keep christ in christmas

Up on the rooftop

Jesus Christ

Rolling hills

Not quite palm trees





Continue on I-22/US-78 W. Take US-278 W to S Lamar Blvd in Oxford. Take the Lamar Blvd exit from US-278 W

1 h 11 min (78.6 mi)





Rocket City

Saturn V

Fly to the moon

From our rich, historic architecture and neighborhoods to our progressive industries in aerospace, defense and biotech to our culture that encourages innovation and inclusivity, the “Rocket City” has never failed to adapt to the present while maintaining a love for the past.

Get the hashbrown casserole from the Blue Plate cafe,

Free Range Chicken Paillard from Cotton Row

Etouffee from the Po’Boy Factory




Continue on S Lamar Blvd. Drive to Courthouse Square

5 min (0.9 mi)

Oxford







I'm going home

Back to the place where I belong

And where your love has always been enough for me

I'm not running from

No, I think you got me all wrong

I don't regret this life I chose for me

But these places and these faces are getting old

So I'm going home

Well, I'm going home










Achieving God’s purpose

Sell, buy, trade, lose, find

Praise 96.3

I like me better when I’m with you

It’s a crime to pay more than a dime










5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page