top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMike Durkin

Too Many Chiefs

Arrowhead Stadium, Independence, MO

October 2018

Kansas City Chiefs vs. Denver Broncos



Play track to begin




HEY!

Too many chiefs

Not enough victories

If you want to see some sin, forget Paris and head to Kansas City.

Give a cheer for Kansas City

Loud and clear for Red and Gold

As our Chiefs march on to victory

Like our mighty teams of old





Show me state

City of Fountains

BBQ Capital of the World

Jazz Capital of the World

Killa City

Heart of the Heartland

Heart of America

Gateway to the Southwest

Breadbasket

Cowtown

City of A Thousand Nicknames





Hey People Gather Round

Clap your hands, stomp your feet on the ground

It’s time for football and BBQ

Tailgating parties and ice cold brew

I love this city

Kansas City, I love You!

We fight over the best BBQ in town

The burnt ends and potato casserole from Arthur Bryant’s

The pulled pork and brisket sandwiches from Joe’s

The slab ribs and yammer pie from Gates

Gotta get the Pig Ear sandwich with greens on the side at Niecie’s

Each Kansas Citizen has their own pick






THE LOUDEST FANS THE GAMES EVER KNOWN

BOOM BOOM BOOM WE’RE IN THE ENDZONE

A REBEL YELL AS WE’RE GOING FOR TWO

WE’RE GONNA BEAT THE HELL OUTTA YOU!

COME ON, KANSAS CITY

KANSAS CITY, WE LOVE YOU





This is our year

Andy Reid leading the charge

Long gone are the days of Montana, Grbac, Garcia, Green, Gannon, Smith, Dawson

There’s a new chief in town Mahomes

Defending MVP

Last Super Bowl in 1970

Super Bowl IV

Vs. the Vikings

23-7 win

This is our year


At the count of three

I want everybody in the place to be

To make some noise if ya down with me

One, two, three

Hit me with the horns Tony

Keep makin' noise, keep makin' noise, yeah, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh





With foundations in jazz, blues, and big band

Now’s the Time

All the things you are

Yardbird Suite

Corner Pocket

One O’Clock Jump

And the names of Basie, Parker, Moten, and Turner etched in the landscape


Ah, Kansas City

Gon' get my baby back home

Yeah, yeah

I'm goin' to Kansas City

Gon' get my baby back home

Yeah, yeah

Well, it's a long, long time since

My baby's been gone

Ah, Kansas City

Gonna get my baby one time





Yeah, yeah

I'm gonna Kansas City

Gon' get my baby one time

Yeah, yeah

It's just a one, two, three, four

Five, six, seven, eight, nine, wa-hoo


Power and Light

Crossroads

Westport

A city split within two states

The Paseo

The Blue Ridge Parkway

The Plaza

The Troost Wall





Homemade Gates BBQ Sauce

INGREDIENTS

1 cup sugar

1/4 cup salt

2 tablespoons celery seeds

2 tablespoons ground cumin

2 teaspoons ground red pepper

2 tablespoons garlic powder

1 tablespoon chili powder

2 quarts ketchup (Hunt's probably, because of a Hunt's KC connection)

2 cups apple cider vinegar

1-1/2 teaspoons of liquid smoke, hickory flavored

1 teaspoon lemon juice


Combine the sugar, salt, celery seeds, cumin, red pepper, garlic powder and chili powder in a small bowl. Mix the ketchup and remaining ingredients in a large bowl, then stir in the dry ingredients. The sauce can be served warm or at room temperature.






Rah, Rah, Rah, for Kansas City

Rah, Rah, Rah, for Red and Gold

As the Chiefs march on to victory

Like our mighty teams of old


Permit-Free Concealed Carry

Civil Rights

Troost Wall still practiced

But we leave that off the field

We leave that off the parking lot

This is not the time for that

We tomahawk chop






Beat the drum

Here we come

Warriors brave and strong

In the stands, loyal fans

Cheer our team along

Here we go now, here we go now, here we go now

Here we go now, here we go now

Here we go now, here we go now, here we go now

Here we go now, here we go now

Here we go, here we go, now listen






Corn-hole

Corn-fed

Sticky fingers

BBQ smoke

We tomahawk chop

We wear headdresses

On native lands of Kansa, Osage, and Sioux

The arrowheads

The tipis

The red faces

Let’s separate the past from the future

Let’s end these behaviors





Arthur Bryant's KC BBQ

1/2 cup distilled vinegar

1.5 cups water

1/2 cup paprika

1/4 mustard (for orange color)

1/8 cup kosher salt

1 tsp black pepper

1/4 cup lard

1 tbsp onion powder

1 tsp chili powder

1/2 tsp cumin


Directions:

Cook over medium heat, bring to a boil, let cool.





Ah, Kansas City

Going to to get my baby one time

Yeah, yeah

I'm going to Kansas City

Going to get my baby one time

Yeah, yeah

It's just a one, two, three, four

Five, six, seven, eight, nine, wah



I SAID, HEY (HEY) HEY (HEY) KANSAS CITY

SAID, HEY (HEY) HEY (HEY) KANSAS CITY

SAID, HEY (HEY) HEY (HEY) KANSAS CITY

IT’S SO GOOD TO BE HERE

KANSAS CITY, I LOVE YOU!






Joe’s KC BBQ Sauce

Ingredients

3 cups ketchup

1 cup granulated sugar

½ cup packed brown sugar

½ cup cider vinegar

¼ cup water

2 tablespoons molasses

1 tablespoon Dijon-style mustard

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

2 teaspoons garlic powder

2 teaspoons ground black pepper

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon onion powder

¼ teaspoon liquid smoke


Directions

In a medium saucepan, combine ketchup, granulated sugar, brown sugar, vinegar, water, molasses, mustard, Worcestershire sauce, garlic powder, black pepper, salt, onion powder and liquid smoke. Bring to boiling; reduce heat. Simmer, uncovered, for 1 hour, stirring sauce often.





AND IF I EVER LEAVE HERE IT WON’T BE FOR LONG

CUZ WHERE EVER I GO I’LL BE SINGING THIS SONG

IT DOESN’T MATTER WHERE I’LL BE

I’LL ALWAYS GIVE A CHEER FOR THE KANSAS CITY CHIEFS

I LOVE THIS CITY

KANSAS CITY, I LOVE YOU!





Some of y'all might know this, and some of y'all don't (jam jam)

Some of y'all might be with this, and some of y'all won't

But listen, let me clear my throat

Oh, have mercy babe, Ha!

I hope ya don't mind, let me clear my throat

Special dedication going out to everybody here in Bahama Bay

In Philadelphia

Here we go now, check it out, ah huh, ah huh, ah (God Damn)

Hey, hey, hey, hey

Hey, baby, woo no clown

I say you're no clown

Now, now, now, now

Tell me baby

What's been wrong with you







15 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page